“The charming atmosphere of Lindenwood exemplifies a calm, graceful quality of life.”
The grand masonry gateway situated at the corner of Middlefield Road and Linden Avenue denotes the singular neighborhood of Lindenwood (MLS # 293). In 1878, wealthy businessman James C. Flood constructed this impressive entrance to Linden Towers, his ‘country home’ situated on a 600-acre plot once called Fair Oaks. The ambiance of sophistication and affluence of the area remain though Mr. Flood and his opulent manor are long gone.
Although it doesn’t boast the wealthiest or most impressive homes in Atherton, Lindenwood is indeed the town’s quintessential borough. Its avenues are meandering and lush and the neighborhood exudes peaceful prosperity.
Built between 1937 and 1960, many of it’s sprawling ranch homes are at least 4 bedrooms and have 3,000 or more square feet of living space. The average lot size of an acre ensures peaceful seclusion. Sprinkled among these modest, mid-century ranchers are custom homes and more than a few Eichlers. In fact, Lindenwood is where post-war real estate developer Joseph Eichler chose to construct his own home in 1951.
Residents of Lindenwood revel in the calm, graceful quality of life that Lindenwood affords.
Neighborhood Price Point
$2,600,000 – $7,500,000
- One of Atherton’s most exemplary neighborhoods
- Spacious, sprawling ranch homes interspersed with custom dwellings and Eichler houses
- Large, 1 acre lot sizes
- An atmosphere of charm, grace and sophistication
History of Lindenwood, Atherton
The majority of Lindenwood was once owned by James C. Flood, one of the country’s wealthiest men, thanks to his stake in the Comstock Lode silver bonanza.
Like many other well-to-do San Franciscans, Flood discovered the warm climate of the Peninsula to be the perfect escape from the dreary summers farther north. He purchased considerable acreage of Rancho de las Pulgas upon which he built his 44-room mansion. So ornate, it was referred to as the “White Castle”, a “beautiful atrocity” and “the most lavish of all dwellings and the showplace of the Peninsula,” according to author Theron Gady in his “Tales of the Peninsula”. Sparing no expense and taking 3 years to construct, Linden Towers was completed in 1878.
James C. Flood died in 1889 while on a round-the-world vacation, leaving his estate to daughter, Jennie. Jennie donated Linden Towers to the University of California who then sold the property to James L. Flood when they realized they couldn’t possibly manage such a sprawling residential estate. Linden Towers remained in the Flood family until James L.’s death in 1926. In 1934, after an auction in which all of the personal artifacts were sold to private parties, the estate was demolished and property was sold and the land subdivided.
Many of the auctioned treasures can be seen on public and private property, including streetlamps, statues and fountains. And James C. Flood’s legacy also remains visible in his initials inscribed on the impressive stone gate at Middlefield Road.